Finding You (Movie Review)

I was looking for something to entertain myself from another mundane day on quarantine. I purposely searched on Netflix “Finding You” after stumbling on a meme from their Facebook page. I saw the trailer from last year but never quite got the chance to see it on cinema. I thought it was just your typical falling in love with your childhood bestfriend troupe. I was half wrong.

117386988_1246917085659555_507961807462773738_n

I didn’t actually read the summary or synopsis of the movie. I probably wanted to surprise myself. I was that bored. I was introduced to the protagonist “Nell” with Hyperthymnesia. It got me curious about him having it. Like so what? What’s the point of him having it? So as the story progress, I was starting to grasp the role it was playing out.

As a fan of movies and stories relating to memories especially in the realm of Amnesia, Alzheimer’s or erasing memories, count me in. His Hyperthymnesia got me to continue watching. I told myself if I get bored and everything was predictable, I’ll go watch anime instead. Everything was going smoothly about ¾’s of the movie. As the big plot twist entered, I cringed. Masyadong pilit for me. I think there was a better way to story tell it. They were trying to lump in everything because they wanted to add the happy ending. I didn’t even got the chance to feel bad for Leah unlike for Grace and Ces.

Actually, the last part got me thinking of another movie. A classic and a favorite one relating to memories. I think the movie was trying hard to relate to that movie. I feel bad cause now if I think about this movie, I cannot help myself from not thinking of the other movie. This movie was good and can really stand on its own if the ending was made better. Sorry not sorry.

The death drive premise of the movie was strong. But I cannot sympathize hard enough because the movie was made to be a feel-good story. In fact, one the reasons this movie attracted me to watch it is because of its color grading. It’s bright and colorful. Even the settings were made to be youthful. It makes you feel young and free. There were lot of songs or soundtrack that can fit easily into the theme of the movie. I was happy to hear a munimuni song though it didn’t hit me hard like it supposed to do. This is a miss opportunity for the movie in my opinion.

It breaks my heart but I’m sadly giving it a 2.5/5 stars. This movie really got a potential to be one of your favorite Filipino romantic movies. There’s nothing wrong with happy endings but let me repeat myself for the nth time. They could have done better. But In the end, the movie served its purpose. I was entertained. I got by my boredom and here I am writing a review about it.

mv5byjvkmddjotgtzwvizi00ywfhltg0odytnjrmmtg1ztk2nwvmxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvynti5njiymw4040._v1_sy1000_cr006921000_al_

 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started